Roasted Acorn Squash

Acorn Squash

[photo: unknown]

Years ago, a friend of mine introduced me to the tasty flavor of a roasted acorn squash. Every fall when I see these arrive in the stores, it reminds me how much I love them and I know that I will need to make these at least 2 or 3 times this season. I’ve seen many variations, but this was my first and favorite version.

Roasted Acorn Squash
Serves:     4        Preheat Oven Temp:  375

Ingredients List
2 acorn squashes
2 Tb. butter
4 Tb. brown sugar

Step-by-Step

1 Slice the acorn squashes in half, from the stem down and place face up on a baking sheet.
2 Spread 1 Tb. butter over the surface of each cut squash including the center hole. Spoon 2 Tb. brown sugar into the center of each squash. Put a few tablespoons of water on the baking sheet to keep the squash from getting dry while cooking.
3 Bake uncovered for about 1-1/2 hours to ensure the squash is soft and the top is browned.

The variations I’ve seen include adding crumbled bacon, maple syrup, molasses, Parmesan, or olive oil with herbs. Try your own variations and come up with something new.

Leave a Reply

